Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital

Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital Part of the treat at he veterinary hospital was to put on a gauntlet and have your photo taken with one of the falcons. I thought A. would love this but no, he was happy just to look from afar. So, after we had watched the surgeon perform a minor surgical procedure on one of the pet falcons, I decided to be brave and I put on the gauntlet. Given that I had to leave Monte Carlo early because of all the pigeons, I was amazed at my fearlessness. My falcon’s name was Pala and she responded beautifully to my dulcet baby talk – I should have spoken to her in Arabic! All the falcons in this room were the very expensive, pampered pets of local Emiratis. Pala was so calm with me that the veterinarian had to make me shake my hand to get her to stretch out her wings. I stroked her chest and it was so soft, like cashmere. Feeling the fear and doing it anyway rocks! Click on the red link below to read the whole story. POSTCARD FROM ABU DHABI – click here

Leave a Reply

