Postcard from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

fort lauderdale waterway

Before I started this blog, I used to write travelogues much like the ones on Postcards from Kerry. I sent them to friends and family who are all over the world as a way of keeping in contact. As you know, Facebook is my bete noire, and I thought my PDFs were a tad more interesting… A few years ago I took a solo trip to Fort Lauderdale in Florida to relax with the excuse that a friend from Texas had recently moved there. I thought it was idyllic, so much prettier than Miami and less frenetic. The airport was small and friendly but my Haitian taxi driver had all the rude qualities of a Parisienne driver with no Caribbean chill. Whoosh, I was at my fancy Marina Hotel at brake fast speed.

Once I got my breath back, I was enchanted by all the waterways and canals. As soon as I put my shorts on, I set out to find the Waterway taxi which was at the end of the marina. There was the most magnificent sleek black yacht moored there and a friendly gentleman told me it was Stephen’s Spielberg’s. It certainly looked like something out of the near future. I was wondering why the men were particularly friendly until I realized that I was a hot, young chick (over 50) in an ageing population.

As usual I headed off in search of critters to the Hugh Taylor Birch State Park and I went the whole way by water taxi – it was so EXCITING!!! I wanted to see alligators but I have seen them many times before but fortunately I was lucky enough to see the threatened gopher tortoise in the park. Does that mean he eats gophers?

Fort Lauderdale Gopher Tortoise

Fort Lauderdale Gopher Tortoise

It was a hot day despite being winter and I was tired but happy sitting at the Waterway Taxi stop dangling my feet in the canal. I noticed a lovely yacht slow down, turn around and an attractive man asked me if I would like a ride anywhere. I looked at him, assessed his potential wealth, thought about Dexter and politely said, “No, thank you!” with a laugh. That’s the best pick up line I have ever had apart from when Teddy was offered myriad camels and the man’s mother in exchange for me. Given my lack of desire for cooking and the possibility of a good Egyptian cook, I could see my husband assess this offer in a similar manner!

20 thoughts on “Postcard from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

  1. We have gopher tortoises on our property but I think they get that name because of the holes they dig, I don’t know much about them.. One in particular is in my back driveway almost everytime I come home 😬
    I made the driver of the car behind mad until he saw why I stopped halfway pulled in my driveway, blocking both lanes of the street 😂
    When he nosed his car up to yell at me, I just smiled as I carried the critter to the palmetto bushes off my driveway..
    The guy waved and backed back up, i couldn’t have completed the turn in, if he hadn’t..
    Why else would I be blocking the road unless it was something important, people can become really dumb when impatience rules.. I know this, because I’ve been impatiently dumb too.. It’s just better when its someone else and not me ! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did the same with a huge turtle who was running away from the containment pond to the freeway. Teddy looked in horror as I put him in the passenger floor (of his brand new Challenger) and made him take us back to the containment pond, We all loved happily ever after…I think, 🙂

      Like

  2. … I bet Ted didn’t think too long when choosing between a pretty wife and a cantankerous old lady, no matter how many camels were attached to her 😉
    what a sly offer though, that guy was clearly keen to get rid of his mother 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now, I’m back in Florida. In my mind, you’ve got me strolling along the boardwalks over swampy waters, looking for signs of gators. Such a wonderful part of the world for seeing exotic animals. Thanks for the return trip.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

