What do you do when sleeping?

cartoon cat sleeping

I woke up the other week and I thought we were having an earthquake in Houston. Have they started fracking here? The bed was shaking and I looked over to Teddy who was fast asleep but having fun all by himself… I nearly burst out laughing, then thought about joining in but decided to go back to sleep. I bet he wasn’t thinking about me – Jennifer Lawrence, perhaps? This has happened before but he has no memory. Most commonly he wakes me up with his impersonation of a snoring bear.

When we first got married, I sleep walked on one occasion and often mumbled in my sleep. One night, I got up, washed and dressed – ready to go out to work at 2 pm. I would have gone had I not realized that it was silent and pitch black. When I was a child I could not sleep without a light on and a thumb in my mouth. I shared a bed with my single mum and she was driven to distraction by all the soft toys she had to eject just to get into bed. I started having horrible nightmares when I was less than five years about witches crawling up the wall. I still have dreams almost every night but they are more like disturbing reality. My mum used to wake up the whole house, screaming, after horrific nightmares. I suspect that is a side effect of a similar diagnosis and medication that we take.

My poor little crazy cat, Zhenny, will often wake up after a nightmare, hiss and fall out of the laundry basket onto the washer. She starts to cry and has to be comforted by mum or dad. Sometimes she falls into a deep sleep while on my lap and will have a falling off a cliff shudder and wake herself – bless her heart. She chose the right family to live with.

I rarely have erotic dreams but when I do, it is always forbidden and surreal. My dreams are in color but they are either muted pastels or gloomy. I have several recurring dreams that all revolve around a house or area that we used to live in. It is always something unpleasant, like living back in Egypt or England. The houses are surreal but bear some resemblances to previous houses. Despite this, I have the capacity to sleep right through a hurricane or recently a tornado storm. This will only make sense to fans of the Walking Dead, but recently Teddy woke up after a nightmare and ran to get a cuddle from me. Apparently I had a shotgun and told him to “look at the flowers”. I wonder if I was wearing a twin-suit? I told him if he keeps shaking the bed it might be prophetic….

POST SCRIPT
This morning I was dreaming of having illicit sex with my first boyfriend (I never did). It was very realistic until I realized that yet again the bed was shaking… LOL!

26 thoughts on “What do you do when sleeping?

  1. One of the reasons I so like sleeping is that I usually have very interesting and happy feel good dreams . It is very rare for me to have nightmares or bad dreams , and I’m very lucky in that , because being my other dreams so alive and real , I’m afraid I could die of fear or shock while having a nightmare πŸ˜‰ . The strange thing is that since I cut off gluten I’ve been dreaming a whole lot less , but my tummy is a whole lot happier , and I can always dream awake πŸ™‚
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It certainly does sound like Zhenny is with the right family. One of my cats also has nightmares from time to time and needs to be comforted afterwards.
    Dreams are more exciting than anything else happening in the bed! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I rarely remember a dream more than 5 minutes unless they are exceptionally unusual. The average stuff, you know; tobogganing down an ice cream mountain – root beer flavor. The everyday 007 dreams, heavy on the ladies, short on the fist fights although I nearly knocked out my wife one night when I went to elbow a bad guy in the face who had me in headlock. Luckily she forgave me for that one. Funny how the mind works but the best dreams on the ones where I can float or levitate. Not too high, just rooftop and I enjoy those ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember from that scene from the Walking dead well … Here it goes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dCn7d_jDjg … It was interesting to read about your dreams… I certainly believe in dreams as a source of inner knowledge and even think that certain dreams might be prophetic somehow.. but not in a direct, clear way… but in a more symbolic and cryptical expression of our desires and/or fears… Sending love and best wishes. Aquileana 🌟

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

