Wednesday’s child is full of woe…

Spicebush Swallowtail

Spicebush Swallowtail

This photograph is for Victor Rakmil. His has a fantastic photographic blog on WordPress. His photos inspire me to do better and learn techniques. That said, I took this butterfly with an inexpensive camera, shaky hands, peripheral neuropathy and NO patience!

The title of the blog refers to my birthday which is today! I was born on a Wednesday in San Francisco, many, many years ago. No matter how I approach my birthday each year, it is not usually a happy day. I have spent many birthdays on vacation as our wedding anniversary is the day before and sometimes that helps. Although I am often smiling, it is a social mask to make me and everyone around me feel better.

I am surrounded by people who love me and still receive a handful of cards from relatives and friends. Presents make me anxious – why? Who knows, not me. My mother frequently quoted that line of the nursery rhyme – “Wednesday’s child is full of woe” – and perhaps it is just imprinted on my personality that I cried on special occasions. I still get very excited about events then get anxious and finally sad.

The truth is that I have chronic depression and anxiety. It was first noted when I was 7 and now that I am aged 56 I guess I will die with it. Someone recently mentioned to me that many people in the third world I have no idea of their birth date or exact age. Maybe that would work for me? In which case I would like to be born in August about 20 years later than I was… 🙂

This year, I am grateful that my husband has a job, after 6 months of unemployment. I seem to have chronic fatigue but it could be much worse. Currents global events are making me weary and sad. I volunteered yesterday and someone from Latin America told me in broken English that I was a very nice person.

Anyway, happy birthday to me, Crabby Kerry!

46 thoughts on “Wednesday’s child is full of woe…

  1. Happy happy birthday Kerry. I hope you’ll join us for your birthday lunch tomorrow . I’m returning to Chicago 10th – 27th Aug so won’t see much of you in Aug. Please come if you can. Will let you know time later today

    Love

    Liben xx

    >

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wishing your birthday today did actually turn out to be mostly a happy one , and that you felt it from your inside (not just the outside mask we put on to please/not hurt others) 🙂
    You deserve to be happy and to be able to accept gifts and compliments that you’ve earned by being You ❤
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happy birthday for yesterday from a Thursday’s Child who has far to go and it seems to keep getting further!! You were born in an auspicious year (I join you at 56 in a couple of months) and your depression and anxiety are bound to make the day taxing. My eldest daughter suffers from acute anxiety and has always hated presents – she’s afraid of surprises and scared that if she doesn’t like something she will show it (which actually she does!). I hope you DID enjoy the day but if you didn’t, put it behind you and have an unbirthday another day just because you want to and it feels like the right time to celebrate being the adorable, lovely person you are. And if you want to tell no-one you are doing it then that is your perogative too 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

      • Indeed. We should all remember that …. but I am sorry it downturned. A very wise Irish friend of mine always says ‘go with it’ …. he is not being flippant but rather stressing the fact that so often resisting the way we feel and trying to put a brave face on makes us worse. Your depression is a wicked opportunist of a black dog who will always jump on that shoulder how ever much you try to fend him off. I feel for you, really and genuinely feel for you xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much, Osyth. This time it was circumstances mixed with the black dog and I will probably blog about it… I made some decisions about the next few months and feel hopeful. K x

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The MakeItUltra Blogger Award – Life of an El Paso Woman

  5. I hope you had a beautiful birthday…. thanks for being open and always leave us thinking… you are right, we are blessed to know when we were born… and I will add, who our parents are … it is not always that way in many parts of the world as you have accurately highlighted…
    I am wishing you well, my friend… Aquileana 🌟

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

