MakeItUltra™Blogger Award

make-it-ultra-blog

I have been nominated for the MakeItUltra™Blogger Award. Woo hoo!!!

The MakeItUltra™ Blogger Award is an award given to bloggers by bloggers for quality content, originality and presentation. The intention of this award is to encourage connectivity and support in the blogging community and to increase exposure for individual bloggers.
Lisa Amaya of ‘Life of an El Paso Woman’ nominated me and I am very honored.

Lisa’s blog is a fascinating blend of music, guest interviews and posts about her life in El Paso from the perspective of a genuine journalist who is a versatile, gifted writer. Lisa interviewed me some time ago and it was a lovely and much appreciated experience. Click on the link to ‘my’ Saturday Evening Interview

Here are the rules:
If you have been nominated for the MakeItUltra™ Blogger Award and choose to accept it, write a blog post about the MakeItUltra™ Blogger Award in which you:
* Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their blog on your blog. Take a moment to positively promote the person who nominated you.
* Display the award on your blog by adding it to your post and/or displaying it using a widget on your page (Save the image to your computer and upload it to your blog post). Don’t forget to use the tag #MyUltraAward when you make your post!
* Answer the following MakeItUltra™ Blogger Award questions.

*What is your name?
That sounds like an easy question but it’s complicated. My birth name was Katherine Louise Dellinger de Ortega. My Dad registered my birth but my mum wanted to call me Kerry not Katherine… 😕 It wasn’t until I was an adult that I realized that my Dad’s original name was Dellinger (his mother was Ortega) and that he changed it for nefarious reasons.

*Where are you from? That’s also complicated! I was born in San Francisco but was mostly brought up in Scotland before we moved to England, Wales, back to Scotland, off to Egypt and finally to Texas.

*How long have you been blogging and why did you start?
I started my blog in 2010 but wrote one post and stopped. I restarted it in 2014 in an effort to promote my book, ‘Letters from Cairo’ by Kerry Duncan (published on Kindle).

*What are you most proud of? I am proud of navigating my way through life with an inherited chronic mental illness (OCD, anxiety and depression). I made a good choice in my husband and although I have worked more in the past, I never made enough to support myself. I try to balance this by telling myself how lucky I am to manage my illness and still be married (to the same person 💓)

*What are your blogging goals? I had no intention of promoting awareness about mental health care (and lack of it) but once I started, I received a touching response. I want to become a better photographer and consistently blog.

*How do you spend your free time? I am a couch potato. My blog alludes to a fabulous life but most of the time I love to sit on the sofa with my laptop, watching TV at the same time. Cheesy reality shows about Amish people or Polygamists really flick my switch…

*Nominate 1-8 blogs that you feel deserve the award and provide links.

I am just going to nominate one person – Terry at Spearfruit. Terry is the most consistent blogger I know despite currently being treated for cancer. Not only is his blog (and life) amazingly interesting but he even posts from his chemo treatment. What the heck is wrong with him – I don’t think he is human! He has a lovely husband, as do I, but he is my #1 boyfriend 💋. I don’t really expect him to accept this challenge but I want him to know how much his followers love him and are rooting for him.

18 thoughts on “MakeItUltra™Blogger Award

  1. Kerry, Kerry, Kerry, you sweet person you. I am honored to accept this award. You are special and I am fortunate to know you. One day, and this WILL occur, I will plan a trip to Houston and I will give you a BIG TEXAS hug. You know I appreciate you very much – truly I do. I am late on responding to awards, but will try to have my response by the end of next week. Thanks dear, I am touched. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My First Q&A Tag! – Sight Seeing Storyteller

Leave a Reply

