Fall in the sub tropics

The tree outside my house

The tree outside my house

Houston is in the sub-tropics, I live a little further north just on the edge of an ecological division between coastal and piney forest. Whatever the case, fall comes late to these parts. Sometimes we don’t get one at all if a hurricane runs through. It was similar in the north of Scotland. One day it was summer and then the tail end of a tropical hurricane would blow all the leaves off the trees and BAM – it was winter.

Most of my local photographs are taken next to our containment pond. For those unfamiliar with the term, the pond is there to soak up our many floods. It also dries up to barely nothing in a drought. Usually noisy Teddy is with me but I was quietly stalking and suddenly saw this precious pair.

baby-nutria

Baby nutria with mama after a swim

Nutria is an invasive water living mammal not unlike a beaver or coypu. They were introduced to the south for the fur trade so, as usual, we humans are to blame. The baby was gently bleating to Mama about the strange lady with the camera. I haven’t seen them for a while because the Rangers remove them. For the short time that they are here, I will enjoy their little furry faces.

mama-nutria

Mama nutria swimming

As I was walking about I could hear the drying leaves rustling and the ever present noise of the frogs that live at the pond. Then I spotted this poor cold turtle – he stayed right on his little island because it was too cold in the water. It’s all relative, temperature wise, as the temperature was mid 60s and sunny. β˜€

cold-turtle

cold-agave

A ‘Chili’ Agave!

34 thoughts on “Fall in the sub tropics

  1. I agree with you about Scotland jumping from Summer to Winter and missing Autumn but I have to disagree with your words.
    It’s not so much “One day it was Summer and the next….it was Winter” as “There was ONE DAY of Summer and the rest of Winter” LOL πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • Absolutely! They are voracious herbivores (you know what these vegans are like) and eat some of the food intended for indigenous species but they are so damn cute! I wish you could have heard the baby bleating for Mama – like a tiny goat.

      Like

  2. Hi there Kerry … it is interesting to learn about Houston and its sub-tropical weather…. Loved the images you have posted over here…. particularly the nutria, because when I was a kid I won a book feauturing a nutria as a main character. I was bestowed that book because I had been the pupil who had borrowed more books during the year at school. I remember that I was so proud and that I read the book (which beautiful illustrations By the way) many times!.
    Sending love and wishing you a good week ahead, my friend. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • How wonderful that you love Nutria, too! Reading is a great joy in life – I read every book in our local library and took out 6 per week. Yesterday it was 80 degrees and overnight it dropped almost 50 degrees. Brrrrr! ❄

      Like

  3. I’m from H-Town! πŸ˜‰ Well not presently, but that is where I grew up. πŸ™‚ And nutria…we used to have problems with them invading restaurants in the neighborhood I grew up in. Also there were just as many of them as road kill as squirrels. But recently, it’s like they just vanished.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely loved this post … those little nutria are gorgeous and personally I find humans to be the basic nuisance. If I was rich I would have rangers to round up people and put them in a reserve!!!! And that turtle is a stunner!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

