Hello Sailor!

Mexican Naval Eye Candy

Well, I have met some handsome naval guys during my life but this gorgeous specimen took my breath away caught my eye. Can you hear the low cougar purr as I admired this young cub? He was standing outside the Naval Museum in Puerto Vallarta to draw in cougars, kittens and the large gay population of the town. Well, I assume that… Just like my mum would, I went straight up to him and starting talking to him. My mum, who had a thing for Hispanic men, would have fainted. He was charming, articulate with perfect English. He told me all about the museum but I wasn’t really listening.

Eventually, I did go into the Museo Histórico Naval de Puerto Vallarta (The Naval Museum) and what a revelation it was. It was small but beautifully created. The naval history of Mexico was quite fascinating from Conquistadors to current life. All the staff was enlisted naval personnel and it struck me that this was an excellent job in an area that had limited opportunities for young people. It was situated right on the promenade so you couldn’t miss it.

Stained glass ship

The piece de resistance was this amazing stained glass artifact in the coffee shop. What I couldn’t photograph was the light display on the ceiling which was a constellation. Wow! The coffee was also the best I had tasted in Puerto Vallarta. I was curious as to why it wasn’t busier but not all the naval staff had much English. How hard is it to ask for “Un cafe latte, por favor?” It amazes me that English speaking tourists travel all over the world without even a phrase book. On occasion I have had to resort to clucking like a chicken in restaurants but at least I try…🐔

As I sat in this beautiful coffee shop, looking at the sea, I pondered my Mexican ancestors and hoped that they were proud that their ‘grand-daughter’ was determined to visit one of my homelands and understand how amazing they were.  I also realized how lucky I was to have the ability to travel the world.

22 thoughts on “Hello Sailor!

  1. I remember being particularly appalled the first time I was in Paris aged about 16. My host family took me to a lovely cafe somewhere near the Champs Elysées. Behind us was a British family who were shouting at the waiter for white coffees. I leaned back and said to them you need to ask for Cafe au lait. ‘Ole’ guffawed the odious father … that’s f’in Spanish ain’t it? He then continued to shout at the impervious Parisien waiter. I have seldom been so ashamed.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. first naval museum staffed by serving navy that I’ve heard of .. we have some great ones here but staff are always volunteers .. often ex seamen, seldom navy .. nice write up and photos Kerry 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

