Friends

friends1
minion ibis

We spent two idyllic days wandering up and down Estero San Jose which is the estuary that forms at the mouth of the San Jose river leading into the Sea of Cortez. It is a protected natural area and a bird migration site. I was fascinated by the egret and ibis pictured above. They were clearly companions, although different species, and wherever one went the other followed. They chattered away to each other – did they speak the same language? There were dozens of other birds so they must have chosen to be with each other. Maybe they were saying, “why is that crazy lady following us?”

As usual, I was my husband’s spotter. “Look there is an osprey, a hawk, a pink dragonfly, a moth at your feet (eek), a sand colored butterfly, a great heron”. He went on a solo vacation to Arizona recently and I bet he missed scorpions, coyotes, rare bunnies etc. He doesn’t know how to stalk properly either…I think I will just eat him in the zombie apocalypse.

friends2

12 thoughts on “Friends

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.